Within the framework of a European project entitled ODIMET, the association Par Le Monde, the University of Education of Lower Austria (Pädagogische Hochschule Niederösterreich or PH NÖ) and the company Wemanity, provided the European teaching community with a concrete set of methodological tools for the production of cultural videos for children from 7 to 12 years old. This kit consists of the “Clap!” , as well as digital activities available for offline use, so that teachers can engage their classes in a fruitful life experience with their European peers. Per Le Monde, PH NÖ and Wemanity have designed educational guides and sheets to help achieve the educational goals of all users.

Indeed, convinced that digital correspondence can cultivate empathy and curiosity as well as guarantee the cohesion of future generations, this kit is an opportunity to maintain these values and disseminate them within the European community.

Several classes in France, Belgium and Austria took part in the game and set up these activities in order to test the proposed resources. The pupils exchanged via eTwinning , a secure platform for connecting education stakeholders in European countries. They shared their videos and asked each other questions about the culture of their mutual country.

Par Le Monde

Par Le Monde is a 1901 law association created in 2013, which provides an educational solution to the challenge of living together in France and internationally. By promoting dialogue between children across geographical distances and the boundaries of the mind, we work to build a counter-model of cultural identity, positive, dynamic, inclusive and open to others.

The innovative use of new means of communication makes it possible to provide a concrete experience of fraternity to children in a situation of geographical, social or school isolation.

Within the project, Par Le Monde uses its expertise in the ideation and practice of activities around interculturality and digital citizenship. The association also includes French primary classes in the exchanges that take place on eTwinning.

PH NÖ

The Lower Austria University of Education (Pädagogische Hochschule Niederösterreich, or PH NÖ) trains and facilitates research for all teachers in the province of Lower Austria. At present, approximately 1,700 trainee teachers and approximately 16,000 permanent teachers are enrolled at the University, which offers Bachelor and Master level training programs for elementary, primary, secondary and special teachers.

Within this project, PH NÖ contributes its expertise in multilingual activities that promote the discovery of languages.

Furthermore, based on the experience gained in the framework of a previous project ( www.palm-edu.eu ), PH NÖ and the associated primary practice school, organized eTwinning exchanges between Austrian classes, French and Belgian.

Wemanity

Wemanity initiates and accelerates agile business transformations.

Its mission: to help companies build and support their organizations in the service of their customers, in an agile, efficient and responsible manner.

Within this project, Wemanity had the mission to develop the “Clap!” based on user feedback and took charge of all the technical part of the project to find an intuitive use of our audiovisual writing tool.

The main challenge of these video exchanges was to integrate the multilingual aspect into the project in a simplified way.

What is “Clap!” ?

“Clap!” is an audiovisual writing tool that allows primary school children to make thematic films about their daily lives and their culture. An off-line platform, it can be used on a smartphone or tablet and thus equips classes with a new fun and educational tool.

In practice, the students produce thematic videos, pre-composed in narrative blocks, directly from the platform which guides them throughout the creation process, eliminating the technical constraints linked to editing and scriptwriting. These will be recorded on their smartphone / tablet and can be the subject of group work supervised by the teacher.

The video reports produced will address themes centered on culture as experienced by the children themselves: gastronomy, dances, traditions, architecture, visual arts… Initially, 5 cultural themes will be proposed (“Our school”, “Our games ”,“ Our food ”,“ Our nature ”,“ Our songs ”), the classes remaining free to create their own theme. This culture up to the level of children is a support for exchanges that motivates and brings together students from the same class around a common project.

Cultural themes make it possible to approach societal and identity issues with hindsight and thus to deepen fundamental learning, first of all writing. By making video reports, the students take back these issues by questioning themselves and developing their own thinking.

Skills acquired through the program

“Clap!” uses the interest of younger generations in video creation to bring them together around a common class project. The platform is an educational support that promotes the acquisition of skills:

  • Schools: the video reports produced in class are multidisciplinary, they give meaning to the fundamentals and thus facilitate their learning;
  • Social: students develop their ability to work in a team, their ability to communicate, their oral fluency, their writing ability (particularly audiovisual) and their self-confidence;
  • Digital: students create meaningful digital content and become aware of their digital identity and responsibilities.

Calendar of exchanges

This digital twinning program addresses 3 main themes:

  • Interculturality: Discover my culture

The classes were led to produce intercultural videos thanks to “Clap!” by addressing the gastronomy, dances, traditions, architecture, visual arts, etc., of their country. The latter shared them on eTwinning to present their culture to the participating classes, in the form of a riddle or a presentation.

  • Multilingualism: Discover my language

Based on the children’s videos, student teachers at PH NÖ developed educational activities to encourage intercomprehension of languages. Before, during and after watching and/or reading the subtitles, the children were encouraged, through intercomprehension tasks, to make connections between their language of schooling, their family language(s), and the language of the video in order to understand the gist of the text and perhaps some details.

In addition, translanguaging tasks encourage children to identify words and phrases that they can use to create new text in their language (s) from the text available in the videos. This will be done through mind mapping, image dictionaries, multilingual storyboards, etc.

  • Digital citizenship: Discover my digital citizenship

Thanks to the resources available on the ODIMET project website, the classes addressed the notion of personal, collective and digital identity through the creation of a common mascot. The objective of this theme is to deepen the students’ critical thinking skills and to help them discover the notion of plural identity.

The role of teachers in this experiment

  • Write and produce videos with their class thanks to ” Clap! ” and the guides made available on the site dedicated to the ODIMET project: test the tool, create content with their class according to the different activities offered, and give their opinion on this work.
  • Share their videos via eTwinning .
  • Give their overall feedback at the end of the exchange: pupils’ reactions, obstacles, opportunities.

Dans le cadre d’un projet européen intitulé ODIMET, l’association Par Le Monde, l’Université d’éducation de Basse-Autriche (Pädagogische Hochschule Niederösterreich ou PH NÖ) et l’entreprise Wemanity, ont fourni à la communauté enseignante européenne un ensemble concret d’outils méthodologiques pour la réalisation de vidéos culturelles pour des enfants de 7 à 12 ans. Ce kit se compose de l’outil “Clap!” , ainsi que d’activités numériques disponibles pour un usage hors ligne, afin que les enseignants puissent engager leurs classes dans une expérience de vie fructueuse avec leurs pairs européens. Par Le Monde, PH NÖ et Wemanity ont conçu des guides et fiches pédagogiques pour aider à atteindre les objectifs éducatifs de tous les utilisateurs.

En effet, convaincus que les correspondances numériques peuvent cultiver l’empathie et la curiosité ainsi que garantir la cohésion des générations futures, ce kit est une opportunité d’entretenir ces valeurs et de les diffuser au sein de la communauté européenne.

Plusieurs classes en France, Belgique et Autriche se sont prêtées au jeu et ont mis en place ces activités afin de tester les ressources proposées. Les élèves ont échangé via eTwinning, une plateforme sécurisée de mise en relation des acteurs de l’éducation des pays européens. Ils ont partagé leurs vidéos et se sont posés des questions sur la culture de leur pays mutuel. 

Par Le Monde

Par Le Monde est une association de loi 1901 créée en 2013, qui apporte une solution éducative au défi du vivre-ensemble en France et à l’international. En favorisant le dialogue entre enfants par delà les distances géographiques et les frontières de l’esprit, nous oeuvrons à la construction d’un contre-modèle d’identité culturelle, positif, dynamique, inclusif et ouvert sur les autres.

L’usage innovant des nouveaux moyens de communication permet de faire vivre une expérience concrète de fraternité aux enfants en situation d’isolement géographique, social ou scolaire.

Au sein du projet, Par Le Monde met à contribution son expertise dans l’idéation et la pratique d’activités autour de l’interculturalité et de la citoyenneté numérique. L’association intègre également des classes de primaire françaises dans les échanges qui ont lieu sur eTwinning.

PH NÖ

L’Université d’éducation de Basse-Autriche (Pädagogische Hochschule Niederösterreich, ou PH NÖ) forme et facilite la recherche pour tous les enseignants de la province de Basse-Autriche. À l’heure actuelle, environ 1 700 enseignants stagiaires et environ 16 000 enseignants permanents sont inscrits à l’Université, qui offre des programmes de formation niveau Licence et Master, pour les enseignants élémentaires, primaires, secondaires et spéciaux.

Au sein de ce projet, PH NÖ met à contribution son expertise dans les activités multilingues qui favorisent la découverte des langues.

Par ailleurs, sur la base de l’expérience acquise dans le cadre d’un projet précédent (www.palm-edu.eu), PH NÖ et l’école de pratique primaire associée, ont organisé les échanges eTwinning entre les classes autrichiennes, françaises et belges.

Wemanity

Wemanity initie et accélère les transformations agiles des entreprises.

Sa mission : aider les entreprises à construire et faire vivre leurs organisations au service de leurs clients, de façon agile, performante et responsable.

Au sein de ce projet, Wemanity a eu comme mission de développer la plateforme “Clap!” en fonction des retours utilisateurs et s’est chargé de l’ensemble de la partie tech du projet pour trouver un usage intuitif de notre outil d’écriture audiovisuelle.

Le principal défi de ces échanges vidéos a été d’intégrer l’aspect multilingue au projet de manière simplifiée.

Qu’est-ce que “Clap!” ?

“Clap!” est un outil d’écriture audiovisuelle qui permet aux écoliers du primaire de réaliser des films thématiques sur leur quotidien et leur culture. Plateforme off line, elle s’utilise sur smartphone ou tablette et équipe ainsi les classes d’un nouvel outil ludique et pédagogique. 

En pratique, les élèves produisent des vidéos thématiques, pré-composées en blocs narratifs, directement depuis la plateforme qui les guide tout le long du processus de création, en effaçant les contraintes techniques liées au montage et à la scénarisation. Celles-ci seront enregistrées sur leur smartphone/tablette et pourront faire l’objet de travaux de groupes encadrés par l’enseignant. 

Les reportages vidéos réalisés aborderont des thèmes centrés sur la culture telle que vécue par les enfants eux-mêmes: gastronomie, danses, traditions, architecture, arts visuels… Dans un premier temps, 5 thèmes culturels seront proposés (“Notre école”, “Nos jeux”, “Notre nourriture”, “Notre nature”, “Nos chansons”), les classes restant libre de créer leur propre thème. Cette culture à hauteur d’enfants est un support d’échanges qui motive et réunit des élèves d’une même classe autour d’un projet commun.

Les thématiques culturelles permettent d’aborder avec recul des enjeux sociétaux et identitaires et ainsi d’approfondir les apprentissages fondamentaux, en premier lieu l’écriture. En réalisant des vidéos-reportages, les élèves se réapproprient ces enjeux  en se questionnant et développant leur propre réflexion.  

Compétences acquises grâce au programme 

“Clap!” utilise l’intérêt des jeunes générations pour la création vidéo afin de les réunir autour d’un projet de classe commun. La plateforme est un support pédagogique qui favorise l’acquisition de compétences: 

  • Scolaires : les reportages vidéos réalisés en classe sont pluridisciplinaires, ils donnent du sens aux fondamentaux et facilitent ainsi leur apprentissage ;  
  • Sociales : les élèves développent leur capacité à travailler en équipe, leur capacité à communiquer, leur aisance orale, leur capacité d’écriture (notamment audiovisuelle) et leur confiance en eux ; 
  • Numériques : les élèves créent des contenus digitaux porteurs de sens et prennent conscience de leur identité et responsabilités numériques. 

Calendrier des échanges 

Ce programme de jumelage numérique aborde 3 thématiques principales :

  • L’interculturalité : Découvre ma culture

Les classes ont été amenées à produire des vidéos interculturelles grâce à “Clap !” en abordant la gastronomie, les danses, les traditions, l’architecture, les arts visuels, etc, de leur pays. Ces-dernières les ont partagé sur eTwinning pour présenter leur culture aux classes participantes, sous la forme d’une énigme ou d’une présentation.

  • Le multilinguisme : Découvre ma langue

Sur la base des vidéos des enfants, les élèves enseignants du PH NÖ ont développé des activités éducatives pour encourager l’intercompréhension des langues. Avant, pendant et après avoir regardé et/ou lu les sous-titres, les enfants ont été incités, par le biais de tâches d’intercompréhension, à faire des liens entre leur langue de scolarité, leur langue familiale(s), et la langue de la vidéo afin de comprendre l’essentiel du texte et peut-être quelques détails.

De plus, les tâches de trans-apprentissage linguistique encouragent les enfants à identifier les mots et les phrases qu’ils peuvent utiliser pour créer un nouveau texte dans leur ou leurs langues à partir du texte disponible dans les vidéos. Cela se fera par le biais de la cartographie mentale, des dictionnaires d’images, des storyboards multilingues, etc.

  • La citoyenneté numérique : Découvre ma citoyenneté numérique

Grâce aux ressources disponibles sur le site du projet intitulé ODIMET, les classes ont dû faire la différence entre des infos / intox parmi un corpus établi, des devinettes et des recherches personnelles. L’objectif de cette thématique est d’approfondir l’esprit critique des élèves.

Le rôle des enseignants au sein de cette expérimentation

  • Écrire et produire des vidéos avec leur classe grâce à “Clap !” et les guides mis à disposition sur le site dédié au projet ODIMET : tester l’outil, créer des contenus avec leur classe en fonction des différentes activités proposées, et donner leur avis sur ce travail. 
  • Partager leurs vidéos via eTwinning.
  • Donner leurs retours globaux à la fin de l’échange : réactions des élèves, freins, opportunités.